Poets & Patrons Annual


Winners’ List 2015


#1        RELIGIOUS POEM    Sponsor and Judge:  The Reverend Geoffrey Rimositis


1st       Maureen Tolman Flannery, “Salvation Army Rosary,” Evanston, IL 

2nd       Janet Anderson, “Compassion,” Huntsville, AL

3rd        Meredith R. Cook, “Prayer Circle,” Blue Earth, MN

1st HM  Deborah Rohde, “Some Call It God,” Northbrook, IL

2nd HM Peter Halliday, “a moment at mass,” Chicago, IL

3rd HM Henry Newton Goldman, “Omnipresent,” Augusta, GA


#2        HUMOROUS POEM                       Judge:  Alan Harris


1st        Curt Vevang, “have you ever noticed?” Palatine, IL

2nd       Vera Ogden Bakker, “The Bottle,” Bountiful, UT

3rd        Susan T. Moss, “Takeoff,” Evanston, IL

1st HM Beth Staas, “Junior High,” La Grange Park, IL

2nd HM Jeani M. Picklesimer, “The Turnaround,” Ashland, KY   

3rd HM Diane “Dee” Bowlin, “Crash Course,” Roanoke, VA


#3        FORMAL VERSE                             Judge:  Kathleen McClung


1st        Catherine Moran, “Another look at dreams,” Little Rock, AR

2nd       Dalene Stull, “Reasons for Roses,” Danville, OH

3rd        Kate Hutchinson, “Bak Yard,” Palatine, IL

1st HM Beth Staas, “Game Boy,” La Grange Park, IL

2nd HM Larry Turner, “Return to White Horse Hill:  for Donna,” Fredricksburg, VA

3rd HM Madelyn Eastlund, “It Was On the Eleven O’clock News,” Beverly Hills, FL


#4        FREE VERSE                         Judge:  Becky Alexander


1st        Diane “Dee” Bowlin, “Puzzles and Pie,” Roanoke, VA

2nd       Carole Z. Croll, “Tides,” Royersford, PA

3rd        Melissa Huff, “Come to me in April,” Champaign, IL

1st HM Catherine Moran, “Touching the edge of poetry,” Little Rock, AR

2nd HM Joseph Kuhn Carey, “Red and Green Men,” Glencoe, IL

3rd HM Camille A. Balla, “I Will Not Write Poetry Today,” Lisle, IL


#5        SOCIAL CONSCIENCE  In Memory of Ken and Adelaide Wallin

Sponsor:  Linda Wallin                               Judge:  John Lehman


1st        Ellaraine Lockie, “Silent,” Sunnyvale, CA

2nd       Dorothy Rogers, “Touching Through Glass,” Lucedale, MS

3rd        Dennis Patton, “The Last Minute,” Alexander, AR

1st HM Beth Staas, “Open House,” La Grange Park, IL

2nd HM David McCovey, “Silent screams drowned,” Gulfport, MS

3rd HM Taney A. Brazeal, “Peace,” Fairhope, AL


#6        MINIATURE POEM                                     In Memory of Ann Nelson

            Sponsor:  Marilyn Huntman Giese           Judge:  Catherine Moran


1st         Beth Staas, “Cloistered,” La Grange Park, IL

2nd       Carol Kanter, “Guide in Namibia,” Evanston, IL

3rd        Carole Z. Croll, “Opal,” Royerford, PA

1st HM Wilda Morris, “Yellow-Bellied Slider,” Bolingbrook, IL

2nd HM Jeani M. Picklesimer, “Silhouette,” Ashland, KY

3rd HM


#7        NATURE        Sponsors: Susan T. Moss and Jared Smith

                                    Judge:  Jared Smith 


1st        Maureen Tolman Flannery, “Designs of Decay,” Evanston, IL

2nd       Melissa Huff, “Fern Room, Lincoln Park Conservatory,” Champaign, IL

3rd        Carol Kanter, “On the Namibian Pans,” Evanston, IL

1st HM Janet Anderson, “Joy For the Natural World,” Huntsville, AL

2nd HM Jessica Jones, “Watching Words Fall,” Orange Beach, AL

3rd HM Donna Pucciani, “Waiting for Crickets,” Wheaton, IL


#8        MIDWEST THEME       Sponsor:  Beth Staas      Judge:  Dalene Stull


1st        Maureen Tolman Flannery, “Abandoned Farm Houses,” Evanston, IL

2nd       Beverly Stanislawski, “Soldiers of the Corn,” Crown Point, IN

3rd        William Marr, “At the Frozen Window,” Downers Grove, IL

1st HM Carole Z. Croll, “Vagabond,” Royersford, PA

2nd HM Janet Anderson, “The Flood Zone,” Huntsville, AL

3rd HM Gail Denham, “Burned Beans,” Sunriver, OR


#9        CHICAGO ART/ARCHITECTURE            In Memory of Glenna Holloway

            Sponsors:  Jenene Ravesloot and Tom Roby        Judge:  Gail White  


1st        Maureen Tolman Flannery, “Jan Van Eyck’s Annunciation,” Evanston, IL

2nd       Deborah Rohde, “Red,” Northbrook, IL

3rd        Carol Kanter, “Architect’s Design,” Evanston, IL

1st HM Mardelle Fortier, “Renoir, Lunch at the Restaurant Fournaise,” Lisle, IL

2nd HM Charlotte Digregorio, “What’s All the Roar?” Winnetka, IL

 3rd HM Nina Wieda, “Talking to Chicago,” Chicago, IL


#10      CHICAGO NEWS, POLITICS, HISTORY: In Memory of Maria Digregorio

            Sponsor:  Charlotte Digregorio     Judge:  Rebecca Kanan


1st        Maureen Tolman Flannery, “Communal Snow in Rogers Park,” Evanston, IL

2nd       Beverly Stanislawski, “My Kind of Town,” Crown Point, IN

3rd        Judith Tullis, “Paper Fortunes,” Indian Head Park, IL

1st HM Beth Staas, “Division Street,” La Grange Park, IL

2nd HM Sheila Elliott, “Mark Beaubien’s Violin,” Oak Park, IL

3rd HM David Nekimken, “The Great Chicago Fire,” Chicago, IL


#11      OUTDOOR CHICAGO: Sponsor:  Barbara Eaton     Judge:  Larry Turner


1st        Wilda Morris, “Windy City,” Bolingbrook, IL

2nd       Susan T. Moss, “Captive,” Evanston, IL

3rd        Maureen Tolman Flannery, “Backyard Real Estate in Chicago,” Evanston, IL

1st HM Deborah Rohde, “Biking the Lakefront,” Northbrook, IL

2nd HM William Marr, “Parabolic Curves,” Downers Grove, IL

3rd HM  Mardelle Fortier, “Another Look at Gray,” Lisle, IL


#12      CHICAGO:  A NIGHT OUT:  In Memory of Coco and Scout

     Sponsor and Judge:  Patricia Eaton


1st        Maureen Tolman Flannery, “Stonewalled,” Evanston, IL

2nd       William Marr, “Red Shawl,” Downers Grove, IL

3rd        Deborah Rohde, “Jesus Saves,” Northbrook, IL

1st HM Sheila Elliott, “Ramsey Lewis at Ravinia, August 2015,” Oak Park, IL

2nd HM Mark Hudson, “Californians in Chicago,” Evanston, IL

3rd HM Marjorie Rissman, “Elegy to the Alcyon,” Highland Park, IL   









Many Thanks to our Honored Sponsors


The Reverend Geoffrey Rimositis

Linda Wallin

Marilyn Huntman Giese, author of The Eye of God:  A Fisherman’s Tale

Susan T. Moss, author of In from the Dark

Beth Staas, author of Beside the Golden Door

Jenene Ravesloot and Tom Roby

Charlotte Digregorio

Patricia Eaton

Wilda Morris, author of Szechwan Shrimp and Fortune Cookies:  Poems from a

                                         Chinese Restaurant

Jean Sotos

John Bagdonas

Joseph Glaser


A special thank-you to Arlyn Miller, of Poetic License, Inc.

For her generous gift